Shopping Cart

A Guide to Religious Jewelry and Faith Symbols

When it comes to religion, there are many different ways that people express their faith. One popular way to do this is through jewelry and other accessories. In this blog post, we will explore some of the most common religious symbols and jewelry pieces. Whether you are looking for a gift for a friend or want to learn more about these items, we hope you find this information helpful!

Christianity: Cross and Ichthys- The cross is perhaps the most iconic Christian symbol. It represents the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and is a reminder of his sacrifice for humanity. The ichthys, also known as the “Jesus fish,” is another common Christian symbol. It is often used to identify others who share one’s faith.

Islam: Crescent Moon and Star- The crescent moon and star is a well-known symbol of Islam. It represents the phases of the moon and signifies that Allah (God) is the only Light-Giver in the world. This symbol can be found on flags, buildings, and other places of worship worldwide.

Judaism: Star of David- The Star of David, also known as the Shield of David, is a symbol that has been associated with Judaism for centuries. It represents the six-pointed star that appeared on King David’s shield. Today, it is often used as a way to identify others who are Jewish or of Jewish descent.

Catholicism: Crucifix- While Catholicism is a branch of Christianity and uses similar jewelry, the use of the crucifix exceeds others. The crucifix is a Christian cross that contains a figure of Jesus Christ. It is used as a reminder of his sacrifice and is often found in Catholic churches and homes. It is also often worn with a pendant or a rosary.

Buddhism: Lotus Flower- The lotus flower is a symbol of Buddhism that represents purity and enlightenment. This beautiful flower grows in muddy water but remains unstained by the mud, symbolizing how we can rise above our negative thoughts and behaviors to achieve enlightenment.

Buddhism: Dharma chakra- The Dharma chakra, also known as the “wheel of law,” is a symbol that represents the Buddha’s teachings. It is often used as a reminder to live in accordance with the Dharma, or moral law. The wheel’s meaning is dictated by the number of spokes within the wheel. One of the most common wheels is one with 8-spokes. The number eight in Buddhism represents the eightfold path. This path is the Buddha’s teaching on living a moral and meaningful life.

Sikhism: Khanda- The khanda symbolizes Sikhism and represents truth, unity, and righteousness. It consists of three weapons: a sword, a dagger, and an ax. These weapons represent the different aspects of the Sikh faith, such as bravery, strength, and wisdom. The khanda is often found on flags, and buildings, and is worn with a pendant. 

Hinduism: Om- The om is a sacred sound in Hinduism that represents the divine presence of God. It is often used as a mantra, or holy chant, to help focus the mind during meditation. While the word Om is a sacred chant, it can often be found embedded in jewelry. Jewelry inscribed with the chant is believed to protect the wearer from negative energies, promote peace and harmony, and bring good luck.

Taoism: Yin-Yang- The yin-yang is a symbol of Taoism that represents the duality of life. It is often used to represent the interdependent and ever-changing nature of all things. The yin, or female principle, is represented by the black side of the symbol, while the yang, or male principle, is represented by the white side. Together, they represent the perfect balance that should be present in all aspects of life.

Confucianism: Ren- The ren is a symbol of Confucianism that represents humanity or goodness. It is often used as a reminder to live in harmony with others and to always act with kindness and compassion. This symbol can be found on flags, buildings, jewelry, and other places of worship around East Asia.

Shinto: Torii- The torii is a symbol of Shinto that represents the entrance to a sacred space. It is often found at the entrance to Shinto shrines and temples. The torii marks the transition from the mundane world to the holy world, and it is through this gateway humans can connect with the kami or gods. Similar to OM and Ying-Yang, torii can be found inscribed in jewelry.

Bahá’í: Five-Pointed Star- The five-pointed star is a symbol of the Bahá’í Faith that represents unity. The five points of the star represent the unity of God, religion, and humanity. It is often used as a reminder to strive for unity in all aspects of life. The five-pointed star can be found on flags, buildings, and jewelry associated with the Bahá’í Faith.

Many different religious pieces of jewelry and symbols of faith represent different aspects of various religions. This jewelry and symbols can be found in multiple places, including churches, homes, temples, and shrines. They often serve as reminders to live in accordance with the teachings of each respective religion. Jewelry inscribed with sacred chants or symbols is believed to protect the wearer from negative energies and promote peace and harmony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free US shipping

On all orders above $50

Easy 30 days returns

30 days money back guarantee

100% Secure Checkout

Visa / MasterCard / Discover / AMEX